My Favourite Children’s Book Heroine

In honor of World Book Day and International Women’s Day, I thought I’d do a little post on my favourite children’s book heroine.

“My life is a perfect graveyard of buried hopes.”

Who doesn’t love Anne-with-an-e-Shirley? I love her ridiculous way of speaking, her overactive imagination, the utter despair she felt over her red hair, her temper. She never fails to make me laugh and I loved seeing Anne grow up throughout the books and become a mother herself. One of my favourite surprise presents to this day is my dad popping into a bookstore along Whitby after seeing the whole collection in hardback and buying them for me because he knew how much I loved them.

The first book is still my favourite, followed closely by Anne of the Island, where Anne goes off to college (I used to dream of living somewhere like Patty’s Place with friends just like Anne’s).

Favourite moments

Her apology to Rachel Lynde.

Dying her hair green.

Getting Diana drunk.

And of course, breaking a slate over a certain boy’s head.

“I suppose it was a romantic was to perish… for a mouse”

Oh look. It’s Gilbert Blythe.

*cough*

I’ll just leave this here:

OK. So the ‘fishing for trout’ quote is technically in the book but it’s a brilliant scene all the same.

If you love the books and haven’t seen it yet, definitely check out the Megan Follows TV version. Perfection. I remember watching these curled up after dinner on Sunday evenings when I was little. (Don’t bother with number three – it still makes me mad).

And yes, I totally want to visit Prince Edward Island!

Who’s your favourite children’s book heroine?

6 thoughts on “My Favourite Children’s Book Heroine

    • I cannot believe what they did to my beloved Anne and Gilbert in number three. What.Where.They.Thinking!?

      Number Two was a bit of a bizarre mash-up but it still had some lovely moments. But the first one was wonderful. I wish they had done all the books properly, how amazing would that have been!

  1. Anne is awesome! I love her! I have been to Green Gables in PEI when I was younger, I’m surprised I haven’t been there more since I live in New Brunswick, so it wasn’t too far to go. I plan on reading these books again soon. As a fellow red head, she was always my favourite growing up as well 🙂

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

