Book Review: A Witch in Love by Ruth Warburton

I was given A Witch in Love for review a long time ago, so I have to apologise to both the author and Hachette for taking so long to get around to reading this.

Anna still finds it hard to believe that Seth loves her and has vowed to suppress her powers, no matter what.

But magic – like love – is uncontrollable. It spills out with terrible consequences, and soon, Anna is being hunted.

*Some spoilers for A Witch in Winter

As the title suggests, there is a bigger focus on romance in this book, and that’s probably why I didn’t enjoy A Witch in Love quite as much as its predecessor. I had hoped the books (and the characters) would move on from Anna’s love spell but we’re left rehashing much of the same stuff and it all gets too melodramatic and angsty for me. Readers rooting for these two will love this book but I was never a fan of Seth and Anna. Seth is far too perfect and consequently dull, while Anna turns rather needy and pathetic whenever it comes to Seth. These two are just way too wrapped up in each other and I don’t feel the chemistry.

Emmaline was sorely missed in this book. She provides any witch-related answers for Anna as needed, but she’s lost her snark (or any sort of plot line of her own), which so endeared me to her in the previous book. In fact, the majority of the secondary characters I was eager to reconnect with are absent from A Witch in Love. Abbe (who I was hoping would be fleshed out in this book) confesses something towards the end that has a lot less weight than it should have done, mostly because he only pops briefly in and out of the story twice in the lead up to it. Also missing is the atmosphere from the first book. Though it makes sense that A Witch in Love should be more focused on events rather than setting the scene, I missed it all the same.

If all this sounds like A Witch in Love was a big disappointment to me, than it wasn’t. Overall I think the book is a pretty good read, and didn’t suffer too much, in my opinion, from ‘second book syndrome’. A Witch in Love has a compelling plot line, one where Anna is trying to find out about her past and who her mother was. Anna is a far more likeable character when she is struggling to uncover her family’s secrets, compared to her acts of petty jealousy or mooning over Seth the rest of the time. Ultimately, Anna still remains a little too ‘vanilla’ to be a truly remarkable heroine. There’s also a dangerous hate group gathering in Winter and Anna is refusing to learn how to control her magic. Needless to say, this causes some serious repercussions along the way.

Much of my feelings and issues from the first book remain and this second installment definitely didn’t strike as good a balance between romance, friendship and plot as the first. But A Witch in Love is still an enjoyable and well-paced read and I’m looking forward to seeing how Warburton concludes everything in the final book.

 *Many thanks to Hachette Children’s Books for send­ing this in exchange for an hon­est review*

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

