My Top Ten Book Romances

It’s been a while since I participated in a Broke and the Bookish Top Ten posts, but I couldn’t resist this one.

I love a good romance, especially if it’s a slow burner – which is probably why quite a few of my choices are romances that have developed at just the right pace over a series.

Some of the best romances are the ones you don’t see coming – so I urge anyone who hasn’t read one of the books to skip the quotes and simply go pick them up already! All are fantastic reads.

Scorpio Races

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Sean Kendrick and Puck Connolly

“In the middle of all this, as Sean slips out of his jacket, he looks over his shoulder at me and he smiles at me, just a glancing, faint thing before he turns back to Tommy.
I’m quite happy for that smile, because Dad told me once you should be grateful for the gifts that are the rarest.”

If ever there was a subtle, intense romance, it’s this one. This is the book that made me fall in love with Maggie’s writing.

ChaosWalkingTrilogy

Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness

Todd and Viola

“And you,” he says, “you need to talk to your boy.” He lifts my chin. “And if he needs saving, then you save him. Isn’t that what you told me you did for each other?”
I let go a few more tears but then I nod. “Over and over again.”

Everything about this trilogy, about these two, is just perfect.

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover

Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

Percy and Annabeth

“Once she was gone, I knelt next to Annabeth and felt her forehead. She was still burning up.
“You’re cute when you’re worried,” she muttered. “Your eyebrows get all scrunched together.”
“You are not going to die while I owe you a favor,” I said. “Why did you take that knife?”
“You would’ve done the same for me.”
It was true. I guess we both knew it”

Never was I more happy than when I heard Riordan was writing a new Olympian series and these two would be in it.

Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables series by L.M Montgomery

Anne and Gilbert

“For a moment Anne’s heart fluttered queerly and for the first time her eyes faltered under Gilbert’s gaze and a rosy flush stained the paleness of her face. It was as if a veil that had hung before her inner consciousness had been lifted, giving to her view a revelation of unsuspected feelings and realities. Perhaps, after all, romance did not come into one’s life with pomp and blare, like a gay knight riding down; perhaps it crept to one’s side like an old friend through quiet ways; perhaps it revealed itself in seeming prose, until some sudden shaft of illumination flung athwart its pages betrayed the rhythm and the music, perhaps. . . perhaps. . .love unfolded naturally out of a beautiful friendship”.

Who doesn’t love these two?! Best of all, we get to experience their romance from childhood crush right through to when they have children of their own. And if you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend the TV movie with Megan Follows and Johnathan Crombie, it really captures the book.

Lost Art of Keeping Secrets

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice

Harry and Penelope

‘I wore the dress I had worn that night at the Ritz and prayed he wouldn’t notice how much I was shaking… he walked into the room and pushed his hair out of his eyes, and I saw the waitress double-take as she noticed their strangeness. He looked over to where we were sitting at the bar, sipping Coca-Cola through straws, and I felt tears stinging my eyes with the relief of seeing him. The utter relief of seeing him.’

Another subtle romance, but it’s the little unexpected moments that make this couple.

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Penryn and Raffe

“I never kid about my warrior demigod status.”
“Oh. My. God.” I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. “You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.”

Well, I had to include an in denial, bickering couple in here somewhere right? Ms Ee could you please write the sequel to this already?

The Agency series by Y.S Lee

Mary and James

“He looked . . . wonderful.  Partly because he was James Easton, clever, sardonic, intense, and far and away the most interesting man she’d ever met.”

Reading these two flirt and bicker just makes me grin like an idiot.

-easy-tammara-webber

Easy by Tammara Webber

Jacqueline and Lucas

“I noticed you the first week. Not just because of how pretty you are, though of course, that played into it. It was the way you lean onto your elbows when you ‘re listening in class, when something catches your interest. And when you laugh, it’s never to get attention, it’s just-laughter. The way you obssesively tuck your hair behind your ear on the left side, but let the right side fall down like a screen. And when you ‘re bored, you tap your foot soundlessly and move your fingers on the desktop like you ‘re playing an instrument. I wanted to sketch you.”

Probably the steamiest couple on my list!

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and Cricket

“Perfect is overrated. Perfect is boring.”
I smile. “You don’t think I’m perfect?”
“No. You’re delightfully screwy, and I wouldn’t have you any other way.”

These two are adorable and too cute. Perkins is so good at writing this stuff it was hard choosing a single quote!

The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner

No Spoilers!

“I am not sure I trust you.”
“You can trust me with your life, My King.”
“But not with my wine, obviously. Give it back.”

These two. These two. There are no words to describe the perfection of Turner’s writing or this wholly unexpected, completely realistic couple.

10 thoughts on “My Top Ten Book Romances

    • One of my favourites 🙂 Do you like I Capture the Castle? Its got the same kind of feel to it. I’ve reviewed it on the blog if you wanna find out a bit more 😉

  1. I have Todd & Viola and Eugenides & She-who-must-not-be-named on my list too! I also included a couple/trio from Rick Riordan’s other series, The Heroes of Olympus.

    I also just got off reading Anna and the French Kiss. Must get my hands on Lola soon. 😀

    • I’m sure you’ll love Lola is you enjoyed Anna. I love both books, think I like Lola and Cricket just a smidgen more 😀 Looks like we have a similar taste in books – or at least couples lol!

  2. YES, KING OF ATTOLIA! Seriously, that romance makes me swoon and sigh and just gape in awe every time. It’s so deep and complex and poignant…I just LOVE it! 🙂 Also, Sean and Puck, Percy and Annabeth, Raffe and Penryn, and Cricket and Lola are some of my faves as well. Fantastic list, Amy! 🙂

  3. I think you are quickly becoming my new favorite reviewer – I mean, Percy and Annabeth, Viola and Todd, and PENRYN & RAFFE? Quick, where is the subscribe button? 😉

    • Thanks! Lol. Though I never seem to get round to actually reviewing the books I love as often as the ones I didn’t! :S

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

