Top 10 Book Covers of 2012

I had a lot of fun with this particular topic for my Top Ten last year, and it remains my favourite this year as well. My choices are a mixture of illustrated covers and more sophisticated covers for YA and all are books published in 2012.

In no particular order, here are my Top Ten Book Covers for 2012:

Gareth Jones always seems to have lovely traditional drawn covers on his books and this one is my favourite so far. Even if I didn’t know from experience what a great writer he is for younger readers, I would be buying this one based on the cover alone.

I’ve fell in love with Christopher Neal’s work after seeing this cover for May B earlier on in the year. It is just beautiful – and I love the colours. I was lucky enough to have Christopher answer some questions about his work and how he created this particular cover on the blog back in March.

We sadly didn’t get this cover when Shadow and Bone was released in the UK, which I think is a real shame as the bold design and nostalgic typography really grab your attention.


The cover for this one captures the creepy feel of the book perfectly and it’s even nicer in real life as it’s printed on thick textured paper and the stars, moon and font are all in silver. Inside there are also lovely black and white illustrations.

I just love how traditional this cover is. I love the etched/woodblock feel of the illustration and how it makes me feel like I’m about to read a good old-fashioned quality fantasy. This one demands attention if only to take in the detail of the drawing.

The most simplistic cover out of the ten. This is another one that captures the book perfectly. The drawing style has a retro feel to it and I like the handwritten type. It also wins points for actually depicting an important event in the book and I love that while the cover draws you in, once you’ve read it, the cover takes on a whole new meaning and depth.

I actually ended up not liking this book much at all, but I can’t deny that this cover really stands out in the crowded YA dystopian market. It’s quite clever, makes you look twice and wouldn’t look out of place in the adult or classic section of the bookstore. It’s not my usual taste in cover design but I really love this one.

Another cover I love love love. This breathtakingly stunning cover is actually a photograph by artist Ebru Sidar. I want this on my wall.

I’ve always been really drawn to this black and white cover. I like the textures, the use of collage, the scale of the ship in comparison to the life boats. I think it’s incredibly effective.

Another cover from across the pond that I really wish had been released here. This design also makes great use of white open space to create a feeling of loneliness and isolation and the hints of orange from the fox is delicious.

BONUS COVER

I had to include the cover for Philip Pullman’s Grimm Tales by Cheong-ah Hwang. Paper illustration is always something I admire and wish I could do. This is an unusual and pretty bold choice for a book cover but it works.

Check out this trailer that goes with it, narrated by the man himself:


 

Top Ten of 2012 is hosted by Lisa from A Life Bound By Books, Jessica from Confessions of a Bookaholic, Jaime from Two Chicks on Books , Rachel from Fiktshun and Mindy from Magical Urban Fantasy Reads.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Book Covers of 2012

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

