June Wrap-Up

There won’t be much of a ‘wrap-up’ this month as I suddenly realised I haven’t posted any reviews! It’s been a bit of a hectic month – on top of my internship, I started a new job up in London and I’m working long hours, with lots of travelling. I’ve been reading just as much as ever while commuting but I’ve had little time to sit down and write. It means reviews are going to be more spread out than when I first started Turn the Page. I’m doing some shake ups with the blog, the aim is to focus more on giving you guys well written and insightful reviews (I hope) and I’m ditching the ratings system. I hope you guys are all still here with me as I get to grips with managing this blog on a far more limited timeframe – I know a lot of blogs that I follow myself post almost every day and I simply cannot keep up with that level of posting.

Coming up this week, I have an author interview and giveaway with Victoria Lamb, about her new historical YA Witchstruck – which I loved.

space

Best of the Bunch in June

 

 

Easy by Tammara Webber

 

This is a perfect example of self-publishing done right. The only reason I can think of why this book wouldn’t be picked up for traditional publishing is because it falls under the elusive ‘New Adult’ category, a fact about which publishers are incredibly misguided (in my humble opinion) and the very reason why I was drawn to Easy in the first place. As a 23 year old – I want to be reading about protagonists my own age – experiencing living independently for the first time, studying, finding that first well paid job, negotiating university instead of high school.

I would urge anyone to pick up Easy – it is very well written, tackles the serious issue of sexual assault – something that unfortunately, a lot of women will likely encounter at some point in their lives, and has one hell of a hot, grown-up romance.

 

 

 

VIII by Harriet Castor

Historical YA doesn’t always seem to be as popular as other genres with a lot of readers, but done well, it’s one of my favourites. VIII by Castor may be written for 9-12 year olds, but this richly crafted novel is a must-read for any age if you’re a fan of the infamous Tudor king, best remembered for his selfishness, overindulgence and cruelty towards his six wives, but also for breaking with Rome and establishing the Church of England.

Castor brings to life the young prince and the story follows him from a young age through to his death, creating a character whose actions and motivations we come to understand, almost empathise with, all the while staying true to history. It does lag a little in some parts, but VIII is an engaging story with just a hint of the paranormal that I think a lot of younger (and older) readers will enjoy.

 

 

 

Best of the Bunch is a great end of the month originally created by Lyrical Reviews and now hosted by Sally at Always Lost in Stories

 

 

 

Books Read in June

 

1. Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder

2. The Gathering by Kelly Armstrong

3. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

4. VIII by H.M. Castor

5. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

6. Heavy Issues by Elle Aycart

7. The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy

8. Adorkable by Sarra Manning

9. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

10. Montacute House by Lucy Jago

11. The Girl in the Mask by Marie-Louise Jensen

12. Flat-out Love by Jessica Park

13. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

14. Easy by Tammara Webber

15. For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

One thought on “June Wrap-Up

  1. Sounds like you’re being kept very busy, but at least you’ve still found time to read some amazing books this month. Kelley Armstrong and Maria Snyder are two of my absolute favourite authors, and I just finished Pushing the Limits and loved it. I really want to read For Darkness Shows the Stars but I’m having trouble tracking down a copy so far.
    Hopefully July will be a better blogging month for you, but I know how difficult it is- I’m struggling to find the time to write any reviews at the moment.
    Have a good weekend! Thanks for still taking part in Best of the Bunch!

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

