Letterbox Love 2

From now on, I’ve decided to take part in Letterbox Love, a weekly meme to showcase your newest books set up by a group of UK bloggers and hosted by Narratively Speaking. I thought this seemed like a fantastic opportunity to get to know some of my fellow UK bloggers a bit better.

There’s also Showcase Sunday, hosted by Books, Biscuits and Tea and also Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews which I’ll doubtless check out as well.

I’ve got a lot of great books to share with you all – unusually for me, a lot of them are for my Kindle. The reason there’s so many is because I had some gifted to me by Jo. I also haven’t logged on to NetGalley for a couple of months and had quite a few books I had forgotten all about ready to download. Including one I was literally about to pre-order!  I think I may need to do another NetGalley month to catch up on them all.

Bought/RAK

I pre-ordered The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom way back when I first heard about it because it sounded like so much fun and I seem to love books aimed primarily at young male readers. It was a little overly long, but very funny.

Second Chance Summer was also a pre-order, based on how much I loved Amy and Roger last year. Sadly this one didn’t live up to my expectations – my review is in the works as I type this.

Vickie from ComaCalm very kindly sent me The Girl in the Mask as a RAK when I had nothing on my swap list she wanted. Marie – Louise Jensen is a good choice if you’re after a lightweight historical YA and I enjoyed reading this one.

Library

Since reading her Poison Study books a few weeks back, I’ve been itching to finish Synder’s Dystopian YA series. I really liked Inside Out when I read it last year and I’m looking forward to getting back to Trella’s story.

Bought Kindle

I finally purchased some of the self-published titles I’ve had my eye on for a while. I was looking for some fun, sizzling romance, along with some New Adult books and Easy and Flat-Out Love had been highly recommended to me. I’ve also heard some great things about What a Boy Wants as well.

I read Flat-Out Love yesterday and I have to admit it was a bit of a disappointment, but I’m very, very excited to read Easy, after reading Sarah’s review over at one of my favourite book blogs, Clear Eye’s, Full Shelves.

NetGalley

So many great titles  that I’ve been lucky enough to be granted access to on NetGalley – all these are from the last three months. I am most excited about Pushing the Limits – a book I’ve been dying to read since so many of my friends on Goodreads have nothing but great things to say about it. I was about to pre-order it on Amazon, so I cannot believe I forgotten I had it on NetGalley! I’m also very excited about Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin because I was very impressed by Ashfall, it’s predecessor. I’ve heard that it lives up to the first book.

RAK

My lovely friend Jo from Wear the Old Coat has sent me some amazing RAKs this year and for some reason I’ve been forgetting to highlight them here! They are all titles she knew I was desperate to read as well! (Girl deserves a massive cupcake) I’ve already read and adored Adorkable and cannot wait to start Shadow and Bone and Me, Earl and the Dying Girl, which, I’ve been reliably informed, is hilarious.

So that’s it for this week. A much bigger mailbox than I thought it would be and lots of lovely books to get stuck into!

 As always, comment away and feel free to leave link backs to your own weekly haul!

6 thoughts on “Letterbox Love 2

  1. I look forward to your review of Second Chance Summer. It was a bit disappointing for me too but overall I liked it. I have to agree about Flat-Out Love too, I really didn’t like it that much even though I expected to!

  2. Wow Amy, you’ve got a fantastic haul this week! I’m reading Shadow and Bone myself this week and really enjoying it. I also recently finished Ashen Winter which was a great sequel to Ashfall and I loved The Assassin’s Curse as well. I can’t wait to see what you think about your ARCs such as Pushing the Limits and Confessions of an Angry Girl as well as Adorkable. I hope you enjoy your novels and happy reading!(:

  3. Omgosh! You got so many great books this week! I really enjoyed The Girl in the Clockwork Collar!! I hope you do too! I really want to read Adorkable (it sounds so cute!) and Shadow and Bone!

    I hope you enjoy all your new reads!
    Happy reading!

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

