May Wrap-Up

I hadn’t realised how quiet things have been around here lately – I’ve had a lot of problems with computers these past few weeks, laptops dying, internet connection problems, uploaded images issues etc. The good news is that I have gotten back into my reading groove so expect to see some (long overdue!) reviews appearing soon.

Talent illustrator Neil Swabb, whose work I’m sure many of you will recognise, kindly took part in Cover Corner this month. I also hit 100 books this morning, so I’m halfway through my Goodreads reading challenge for 2012  and May also saw me reach my One Year Blogoversary! Check out my post about this past year as a book reviewer and make sure to stop by the giveaway that is still going on as well.

Best of the Bunch in May

 

Body and Soul by Stacey Kade

[box] The Ghost
I’ve been trapped in the body of Lily “Ally” Turner for a month now. Talk about a fashion crisis on an epic scale. What worries me more, though, is sometimes I catch Will looking at me like he thinks I’m Lily…or that he wishes I were. Without the good looks of my former self, I don’t know who I am, or if who that is is good enough. I need out of this mess. Now.

Will and I have been looking for a solution, one that would separate me from Lily without killing her. But it’s not going well. Then, when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, we run into Misty, my former best friend and boyfriend-stealer extraordinaire, who claims she’s being haunted…by me. Seriously?

I’m determined to get to the bottom of who’s pretending to be the spirit of Alona Dare (while I’m pretending to be someone else) and then get the heck out of this body. Or die trying…

The Goth
I’ll admit it. It’s really weird to look at Alona but see Lily. I do know the difference, though, contrary to what Alona might be saying. And Alona is more than a pretty face to me, not that she would believe that.

Our one lead for some help in this messed up situation might be a page torn from the yellow pages-—the “Psychics” section-—I found in my dad’s stuff. One of the “fakes” seems a bit more real-—and odd-—than the others. Before I can investigate further, though, Alona is off and chasing a ghost that’s probably nothing more than a figment of Misty’s guilty imagination. Now Lily’s family is freaking out because she didn’t come home, my mom is ordering me to stay out of it, and something is definitely wrong with the person formerly known as Lily “Ally” Turner…[/box]

 

I’m a huge, huge fan of this fun, quick-witted and sizzling series by Stacey Kade and the final book in the trilogy didn’t disappoint. I literally devoured it in three hours and sat there grinning stupidly to myself for the rest of the day. It’s been a while since I enjoyed and loved a book so much.

Close Second

 

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

[box]Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have quarried stone and lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king’s priests have divined her small village the home of the future princess. In a year’s time, the prince himself will come and choose his bride from among the girls of the village. The king’s ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess.

Miri soon finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires to be chosen and win the heart of her childhood best friend. But when bandits seek out the academy to kidnap the future princess, Miri must rally the girls together and use a power unique to the mountain dwellers to save herself and her classmates.[/box]

 

Princess Academy was a surprise – despite the many positive reviews on Goodreads, I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did. It’s definitely become one of my favourites and I pre-ordered the next book as soon as I put this one down. A fantastic modern fairytale for young kids and adults.

You can read my review here.

Best of the Bunch is a great end of the month originally created by Lyrical Reviews and now hosted by Sally at Always Lost in Stories

 

Books Read in May

 

86. The Girl with Glass Feet by Ali Shaw

87. Shooting Stars by Alison Rushby

89. New Girl by Paige Harbison

90. Where She Went by Gayle Foreman

91. Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers

92. Body and Soul by Stacey Kade

93. Arcadia Awakens by Kai Meyer

94. Fins Are Forever by Tera Lynn Childs

95. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

96. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielson

97. A Lady Awakened by Cecilia Grant

98. A Week to be Wicked by Tessa Dare

99. Eon by Alison Goodman

100. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

As always, click to read reviews

Other Reviews

Struck by Jennifer Bosworth

French Picture Books: Il Neige des Couleurs

Cover Corner

Neil Swabb


One thought on “May Wrap-Up

  1. Wow- I can’t believe you’ve read 100 books this year- that’s incredible!
    You’ve read some amazing books though.
    I absolutely adored The Ghost and the Goth when I read it last year, and I have the next two books, but just haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. I really need to though, Body and Soul sounds amazing, great pick!
    Thanks for taking part in Best of the Bunch again this month!

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

