Il Neige des Couleurs

I saw this book at the Musee d’Orsay and fell in love with the wonderfully expressive, scribbled illustrations and rich, orange tones instantly. And isn’t the title just beautiful? It Snows Colours.

Flicking through this in the museum’s shop, it didn’t matter that I couldn’t read the text, the images tell a story all of their own. I loved the simplicity of it, of a father and son spending a day together, exploring. It reminded me so much of Autumn walks with my own father, crunching through leaves and collecting fallen acorns before returning home to prepare them for acorn fights at school the next day.

‘Daddy, Daddy, look, I’m a squirrel!’

It Snows Colours is actually a Korean children’s book that has been translated into French. It tells the story of a father and son getting away from the city and spending the day exploring the mountains.

I wasn’t able to find out anything about the author, Sang-Kwen Lee but I was able to find out a little about the illustrator, Byung-Ho Han. He was born in Seoul, South Korea, with a degree in Oriental painting, he received the Grand Prize in 2002 at the Biennale of Asian Illustrators in Japan and has illustrated several picture books. I also came across this website but unfortunately you cannot really see any of his work very well.

 

‘Look I’m a Magician, I can make it snow colour!

It snows, it snows, it snows of leaves of all colours. This is beautiful.’

 

This last double page spread is probably my favourite out of the whole book. It also happens to be the cover. I love the limited colours and how areas of the page are left blank. Because the drawings have a sort of rough, sketchbook feel to them, rather than being polished, finished artworks, it really brings the characters to life.

‘I have horribly sore feet.

Let’s lie down, the earth feels warm.

From below the maple leaves are even more beautiful.’

Click the images to see slideshow

7 thoughts on “Il Neige des Couleurs

  1. ❤ I wish I could speak French.

    Though, to be honest, I'd be quite happy to just look at these pictures. This gives me a great idea for a present for my friend, actually.

    I agree, that title is stunning. 🙂

    • I never enjoyed French at school but I do wish I could speak it now lol, especially when I love so many of their books! 😉

      Glad it gave you an idea for your friend!

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

