Top Ten Characters of 2011

space

Top Ten Character Awards of 2011

space

Top Ten of 2011, a fabulous week of looking back at the best of the best this past year, is hosted by Lisa from A Life Bound By Books, Rachel from Fiktshun & Jaime & Patricia from Two Chicks on Books and Jessica from Confessions of a Bookaholic.

I could have chosen so many characters this year that I loved, but I picked out the ten that really touched me, the ones I fell in love with, admired, made me laugh, or who I simply didn’t want to say goodbye to.

Favourite Male Character

Todd

Chaos Walking Series

I cannot describe how much I love Todd, so I’m not even going to try. Find out for yourself, you won’t regret it. Todd is quite possibly my favourite character of all time, not just this year.

space

Favourite Female Character

Viola

Chaos Walking Series

Like Todd, Viola was perfectly and intelligently written. She is clever, resourceful and a fighter. She never gives up on Todd and never stops fighting for the people she loves. The bond and friendship between these two is one of the strongest and emotional I’ve ever read.

space

Best Friendship Award

The boy in the Tree (or just everyone from this book)

Jellicoe Road

Melina Marchetta not only writes about fantastic life-long friendships between her characters, but she writes them so well that you wish you could be friends with them to. The boy in the tree probably features the least in Jellicoe Road, but he was there on every single page and while I can say without a doubt that I loved every character in this book, his was the story I loved the most.

space

Character I fell completely in love with

Frankie

The 10pm Question

If there was one character who I wanted to adopt and take home it was Frankie. Utterly neurotic and so adorable I wanted to reach into the pages and hug him. Frankie had me in hysterics from beginning to end.

space

Broke my heart the most

Connor

A Monster Calls

Oh Connor. Much like Frankie, I just wanted to take him under my wing and tell him everything would be okay and hurt anyone who was ever mean to him. This book was so painfully raw it made me ache and left me sobbing.

space

Best Character Progression

Saba

Blood Red Road

Saba, if I’m honest, was more than a bit of a bitch to begin with, and so stubborn she made me want to slap her silly sometimes. But for all that, she was such a compelling character I couldn’t help but root for her. The development of Saba’s character was one of the most interesting I’ve read this year. I loved how she faced tough challenges head on with courage and fearlessness.

space

Loyalty Award

Maris

The Edge Chronicles

Maris is such a stubborn, opinionated, little thing but I kind of loved her. She reminded me of one of my favourite heroines of all time, Hermione. Maris is fiercely loyal to her friends, has a strong sense of right and wrong and doesn’t let her fear stop her from doing anything. Quint is lucky to have you, Maris – don’t ever change for anyone.

space

Best Humour Award

Bartimaeus

The Bartimaeus Trilogy

The sarcastic wit and banter of Bartimeaus was a pure joy to read. I’ve rarely enjoyed a character’s narration more.

space

Kick Ass Female Award

Tesadora

Finnikin of the Rock

I loved this woman. Loved. She’s hard, not at all easy to like and doesn’t tend to trust men but my god she’s a warrior, dislikes power and corruption and will protect those she loves with her life. A strong, admirable female leader who doesn’t make any apologies for who she is, to anyone.

space

Best Animal Award

Taggle

Plain Kate

So true to life it was uncanny. Taggle captured my heart and reminded me of my own two rascals.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters of 2011

  1. I don’t know any of the characters.. o.o Arg. Or maybe I do and I just don’t recall.. *sigh* It’s not my day. I like that it’s snowing here! LOL Or let me rephrase that: I like that it’s snowing and that unlike blogs hosted by blogspot/blogger WordPress doesn’t make your blog load way too slow!) But I like the snow, too.. 😀

    All my best,
    Patricia

  2. Your featuring of Todd is pushing me towards FINALLY reading the last two books in the Chaos Walking trilogy. But, ahhhh, my heart after book one…*cries* I will force myself to do it, though.

    Excellent list!

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

