Cover Corner: Heather Landis


The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hopkins

So, if you are part of the YA blogosphere, you’ll already know (and probably have admired) the rather unique book cover for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – one of the most highly anticipated releases this year. In honor of the its release tomorrow, I thought I’d dedicate this weeks Cover Corner to Heather Landis, professional photographer and illustrator, who shot this beautiful photograph.

For those of you aren’t in the know, this is just one image from a series of photos entitled The Abyss of the Disheartened, all of which are equally stunning, haunting and simply captivating to look at. I have included a few here to give you a taste, but I highly recommend checking out Heather Landis’ website to see them at their best and see her other work.

Simply gorgeous.

There is something very lyrical about these. They have such a peaceful quality and I just love the colours. Working with talented artists, rather than using a stock photo certainly pays off when putting together a book cover, particularly if you hope to create one that will get people talking and make a book stand out in the crowd.

If anyone wants a print, I would suggest popping over to Society 6 and taking a look. They also do ipod cases, laptop covers (and much more) of artist’s work (including several good friends of mine).

Though how you would decide just which one to choose, I do not know.

2 thoughts on “Cover Corner: Heather Landis

  1. Awesome!! This cover is one of my favorites and the original photograph set is simply stunning. I know Mara Dyer is the first in a series so I’m curious to see how they’ll pull of the next two covers.

    Great feature! 🙂

  2. The whole reason I read this book was because of the cover. It’s so beautiful, although I have to say after seeing all her other shots from this series I like some of the other ones better! I can’t wait to see the cover for book two!

I love comments. They make my day :) Drop me a line and tell me what you think!

